top of page

Travel Insurance: Is It Worth It?

Short answer: YES!

This blogger fully believes that travel insurance is worth it. Now, I'm not just saying that so that you'll buy it. I say it because I truly believe that it is actually worth it! I've personally reaped the benefits of travel insurance a few times and let me tell you, it made everything so much easier.

Don't believe me yet? That's fine. Story time!

Story One:

I was involved in an accident on a cruise and ended up re-injuring my knee. The travel insurance paid for all the medical care that I received on the ship (including the brace, crutches, morphine, and pain pills), they also paid for two additional seats on our flight home since I couldn't bend my leg. Needless to say, the travel insurance made what could have been a very expensive trip not so bad.

Story Two:

I recently had yet another accident while on vacation. I fell and this time re-injured my knee, ankle, hip, and shoulder all at once! I had been on vacation for literally 27 hours when this happened! We were originally going to be away for two weeks, but because of my accident we ended up coming home super early and had to rearrange all of our plans. Not only did we have to cancel everything from that point on, but we also had to find a new hotel to stay at since ours was booked solid and the doctors said I shouldn't fly until the swelling went down. Better yet, we had to change the airfare, but it went up by $300! Now, if we didn't have the travel insurance we would have had to swallow all of these costs plus the medical. But since we do have the travel insurance, we sent in our claim and they will reimburse us for the money we lost. How great is travel insurance? (Answer: pretty great!)

So when you're considering getting travel insurance for your vacation, I can't tell you which way to go, but I can definitely tell you that it is worth it!

bottom of page